Self-Test

UOSM2033 Digit Profile: Self-Test

Q1: Why did you choose the module?

A1: When selecting the modules for my third year, I wanted to study a module completely irrelevant to my course (Economics). One main reasons being that I wanted to learn in a new style and with a new group of peers. This module stood out to me in particular because of its unique style of teaching: no lectures, no exam and all based online. This gave me the freedom to learn and submit my work when it best suited me for example, either 7am or 12am.

Q2: What in particular do you want to learn from the module?

A2: To be able to write paragraphs in a blog format more naturally and in a style that is easy for all readers to read. My essay writing skills tend to be quite random and ridiculous lengths therefore, I would like to develop consistency and a flow in my writing. Also, to be able to differentiate between informal and formal style of writing both online and offline.

Q3 Which degree programme are you studying?

A3: BSc Economics (in my third year).

Q4 Have you studied online before?

A4: I have never studied online before. Only when doing my independent revision for example, watching Maths tutorials on YouTube.

Please indicate on a scale of 1 – 5 (where 1 is no experience, and 5 is very experienced) how you would rate your current level of digital literacy against the following criteria:

  Rating at start of module Comments Rating at end of module Comments
Accessing, managing and evaluating online information

 

3.5 I have basic skills in this area as I have needed to do so for previous essays required for my degree. Moreover, reading articles for example, the Financial Times. 5 Submitting part 1 of my dissertation and writing blogs made it natural for me to develop digital literacy skills. Furthermore, I have become an expert at referencing.
Participating in online communities

 

 

3 I frequently use Instagram, Facebook Messenger, LinkedIn WhatsApp and Snapchat. Although I thought I was experienced with this, I have not actually realised how many online communities there are for professional uses in particular. 5 I have now become frequent user of various other online communities such as, Twitter, YouTube, Skype and WordPress.
Building online networks around an area of interest

 

 

1 Mainly use online networks to connect with friends and family and share my images/experiences. 3 I connect with business professionals e.g. bankers, on LinkedIn as this is the industry I want to go into. On Instagram I follow and share a majority of fitness pages. I plan to begin my own fitness blog/page as it is something I am passionate about.
Collaborating with others on shared projects 4 Always found Google Drive to be the most efficient platform when working on group work. 4 Continued to use Google Drive and Facebook Messenger to share documents, etc.
Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video)

 

3 I am able to write appropriate texts online, share images and upload personal images. A few years ago, a hobby of mine was to create home family videos. For example, of holidays, birthdays, etc. 5 ·       Uploaded my first YouTube video for my final post.

·       Used PowToon and Pikochart.

·       Proficient with creating slideshows.

·       Excellent skills in blog writing.

Managing your online identity

 

2.5 Can be quite lazy and only update my profiles monthly. 5 I now keep on track with multiple profiles and consistently check my emails.
Managing your online privacy and security 5 Most of my profiles are kept private. 5 My Twitter is now made public so that I can access a wider audience.

 

One thought on “UOSM2033 Digit Profile: Self-Test

Leave a Reply

